Sharks and Ann Patchett’s List of 75…

Leave a comment

Unknown-15There were other topics I considered writing about today, but when I heard that this is Shark Week – and then read Ann Patchett’s list of the “75 Best Books of the Past 75 Years,” I forgot everything else!

Sharks are not my favorite animal to read about. I haven’t even seen Jaws. But as children’s librarians know, you can’t keep a good shark book on the shelf.  Years ago, dinosaur books were the “scary” animals of choice for the eight-and-under crowd, but for the past two years, sharks have left dinosaurs in the dust!

Here are ten recommendations for the young shark lover in your life:

PICTURE BOOKS

Unknown-1

Shark vs. Train by Chris Barton

Unknown-3

Flip & Fin: Super Sharks to the Rescue! by Timothy Gill

Unknown-5

Clark the Shark by Bruce Hale

Unknown-4

Shark Detective! by Jessica Olien

Unknown

I’m a Shark by Bob Shea

FACT BOOKS

Unknown-6

Fly Guy Presents: Sharks by Tedd Arnold

Unknown-7

Surprising Sharks by Nicola Davies

Unknown-2

Sharks: Biggest! Littlest! by Sandra Markle

Unknown-8

Discovering Sharks by Donna Potter Parham

Unknown-9

Neighborhood Sharks by Katherine Roy (for ages 7-10.  A bit too vividly realistic for the five-year-old shark fan!)

Unknown-10
On a completely different note…..

Ann Patchett’s list is a keeper.  Here’s a link:

http://parade.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/AnnPatchett75BestBooks.pdf

Patchett and her staff at Parnassus Books in Nashville compiled the list for Parade magazine’s 75th anniversary. The books are organized by decades.   I filled out the check list…

-I am familiar with 74 of the books.  The one I had never heard of: The Structure of Scientific Revolutions by Thomas Kuhn

-I’ve read 29 of them.

-There are three collections of short stories that I did not count, but I’ve read stories from the books.

Unknown-12

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel is on the list. I didn’t read it, but if watching the mini series counted….

Unknown-13

-One of the books is on my nightstand – in the queue!  (When Breath Becomes Air)

Unknown-11

– One of the books would have to be the only printed material on a desert island for me to open.  (Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child)

Unknown-14

-and, yes – of course – Charlotte’s Web is on the list!

images

HAPPY READING and be careful in the water!  Sharks may be fun to read about, but….

Leave a Reply

