The Great Wave and the Great Bookfair….

2 Comments

So much happening!

Over the weekend, my husband and I went to the Hokusai exhibit at the Museum of Fine Arts. Hokusai is, of course, best known for his iconic woodblock: The Great Wave from his series, Thirty-six Views of Mt. Fuji.  It wasn’t hard to find – it was the print with people gathered around  taking cell phone pics.  I’m embarrassed to admit that, until taking the audio tour, I had never noticed the smaller wave (under the big one on the left) that echoes the shape of Mt. Fuji.

FullSizeRender

It was especially interesting to see all of the Wave merchandise in the museum shop. Check this out…..

IMG_6930

IMG_6923

IMG_6927

IMG_6919

IMG_6921

After visiting the MFA, we decided to stay with the day’s theme and eat lunch at a Japanese restaurant. When we sat down, this was my view:

IMG_6936

The Wave was with us!

Today is the start of Inly’s spring book fair – four days of playing store!  This one is by Book Fairs by Book Ends, and it is excellent. So many good choices that my own “to buy” stack is already kind of high. An avid 5th grade reader just came in and bought 3 excellent books for summer reading – Counting by 7s by Holly Sloan, Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley.  Awesome choices!

Here are three scenes from Day 1:

IMG_6957

IMG_6954

IMG_6955

Two boys are talking as I write this. One of them just said: “I wonder what it would be like if Bobby Orr still played for the Bruins.” I just checked Wikepedia, and Bobby Orr is 67-years-old. I don’t think they realize that. The Magical Thinking of children!

2 thoughts on “The Great Wave and the Great Bookfair….

  1. Ah the merchandising of art! That said, I did purchase a fair amount from the MFA gift shop during the John Singer Sargent exhibit. 🙂 Books are a much more satisfying long term acquisition. Nice photos!

    • Thanks Cathy! I admit to having great fun in museum gift shops – it was just surprising how many versions
      of the Wave print were available. Wave socks had never crossed my mind….

Leave a Reply

