Snowed In!

5 Comments

photo

Snow!  As my fellow east-coast readers know, we have a bit of snow to deal with resulting in school cancellations and other disruptiveness to our routines. (The picture above is a view of our front steps.)

With apologies to my snow-loving friends, I’m not a big fan of the fluffy white stuff. I’ve never been on skis or skates and every time a friend suggests I may enjoy snow shoeing, I just think of how cold it is outside and how cozy it is inside with a book.

That being said – I love snow books!  For someone who could live in a warm weather climate, I have more picture books about snow than any other subject. Snow on pages is just so beautiful!  Here are my ten favorites:

Unknown

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats (The classic and still the best. Peter makes my heart skip a beat every time I see his cute little red suited body carrying “a stick that was just right for smacking a snow-covered tree.”)

Unknown-4

Snow by Uri Shulevitz (Yesterday, in the midst of it all, a friend sent a text: “It’s snowing, said boy with dog.”  And, right away, the magic of Shulevitz’s book about the transforming quality of snow was on my mind.)

Unknown-5

Snow by P.D. Eastman (Same title, but totally different vibe from Shulevitz’s book. In my opinion, Eastman’s book is the manifestation of how kids feel about snow days – bright, bold and spirited!)

Unknown-6

Snowballs by Lois Ehlert (Inspirational ideas for building a snow family – like using plastic forks to make a snow baby’s arms.)

Unknown-7

Over and Under the Snow by Kate Messner (A beautiful book about animals in winter – you can’t read this book without thinking about how busy the world is underneath the white canopy.)

Unknown-3

Katy and the Big Snow by Virginia Lee Burton (Reading about Katy the snow plow is as much a part of winter as drinking hot chocolate and going sledding! We could use Katy today….)

Unknown-8

Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin (Some kids hear the saying “no two snowflakes are alike” and accept it without question. But others want to know more. This is the book for them…the true story of Wilson Bentley who spent 50 years studying ice crystals.)

Unknown-1

Big Snow by Jonathan Bean (A cozy book about waiting for snow…and the impatience David feels waiting for it to start!  David’s patient mother tries to engage him with other activities like making cookies, “but then the flour, white and fine, made David think of snow.”)

Unknown-9

Blizzard by John Rocco (A timely book about the 1978 blizzard. Rocco was a child living in Rhode Island during that historic storm. This book recounts his trip to the local grocery – wearing tennis rackets on his feet – and the adventures he has along the way.)

Unknown-2

Geraldine’s Big Snow by Holly Keller (A sentimental favorite.  When my son was young, we read this one during the days leading up to a snowstorm. It perfectly captures the fun of anticipating – gathering food and feeding the animals and selecting books to read!  Keller’s book is out of print, but there are libraries and used copies…)

Happy Snow Reading!

 

5 thoughts on “Snowed In!

  1. I feel very similarly! I could live in a tropical climate, and I’ve survived nearly twenty Mississippi summers, and I hate the cold! Love reading about it, though. The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder was my favorite of the Little House books. And more recently, I loved reading Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay.

    Looks like y’all got more snow than we did — good luck getting it all cleared out!

  2. I love snow books too! Always adding new favorites, like RED SLED by Lita Judge and IF IT’S SNOWY AND YOU KNOW IT CLAP YOUR PAWS by Kim Norman and Liza Woodruff.

    Day two of no school and more to shovel that fell/drifted overnight. At least the sun is peeking out!

  3. I love the snow! And there is nothing better than being warm, sitting on the couch with a snuggly cat, reading a good book while the snow flies outside. Snow by Uri Shulevitz…my favorite! 😉

Leave a Reply

