15 Books to Look Forward to in 2015….

3 Comments

Happy 2015!  So much to look forward to in the year ahead – my first trip to Colorado for a family wedding, lots of fun times with family and friends, and other adventures, but I’m already planning my summer reading!  Over the past few days, I’ve been looking at lists of books to be published in 2015 and am a bit overwhelmed by the treasures ahead. The 15 books that I’m most eagerly looking forward to are:

Unknown

Almost Famous Women by Megan Mayhew Bergman (Admittedly, it’s the cover that initially captured my attention. I love this book cover!  Bergman’s book sounds awesome – a collection of short stories about women on the fringes of history.)

Unknown-4

A History of Loneliness by John Boyne (I’m a fan of John Boyne, the author of The Boy in Striped Pajamas and Stay Where You Are And Then Leave. This novel is about an Irish priest.)

Unknown-13

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler (Tyler was my first “literary” author so she holds a special place in my heart. Before discovering Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant, I was reading my grandmother’s Harlequin romances. It was Tyler’s novel that led me to other books and turned my reading life around. It’s been many years since I read a novel by Tyler, but I’m thinking it’s time for one of her distinctive family sagas.)

Unknown-3

The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro (the first novel by Ishiguro in ten years)

And From the World of Children’s Books….

Unknown-5

Wonder at the Edge of the World by Nicole Helget (promising story: in the 1850s, a scientist’s daughter and a runaway slave go to Antartica. Interesting, right?)

51-a7sIRQuL._AA160_Home by Carson Ellis (Another book “sold” by a spectacular cover – a picture book about the idea of home and the ways we live)

Unknown-12

Backyard Witch by Christine Heppermann (A new early chapter book series – with a touch of magic – from a talented author.)

images-1

Waiting by Kevin Henkes (The toys are “waiting,” and the story takes place at the window. You just know this is going to be a perfect picture book.)

Unknown-8

Around the Clock by Roz Chast (Roz Chast is one of the authors on my “grocery list” category. If she published it, I would literally pay money for it. The first thing I do when The New Yorker arrives each week is look for Chast’s distinctive cartoons about our shared internal angst.)

Unknown-7

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Pena (Every Sunday after church CJ and his grandmother take the bus around town and CJ asks his grandmother questions about their lives and neighborhood.)

Unknown-6

Please, Mr. Panda by Steve Antony (A book about manners featuring a cute panda and donuts!  Can I see it now – please?)

Unknown-9

Listen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai (I love Lai’s novel, Inside Out and Back Again. This one is about Mai, a young girl with Vietnamese parents who lives in California. After her grandmother learns new information about her husband, who disappeared during the Vietnam War, Mai travels to Vietnam with her grandmother.)

Unknown-10

Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia (So excited to see this one! The third and final volume in the series that began with One Crazy Summer.)

Unknown-11

The Girl in the Torch by Robert Sharenow (Premise is intriguing…a girl on Ellis Island when her mother dies. So where does she live? How about the torch of The Statue of Liberty?)

Unknown-2

Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman (Speaking of great covers! A family of bunnies who return to their Brooklyn home and find a baby wolf on their doorstep.)

I still need to catch up from 2014!  Reading Greenglass House now and it’s as magical as advertised….

3 thoughts on “15 Books to Look Forward to in 2015….

Leave a Reply

