The Shop at Trinity Church

1 Comment

Unknown

Earlier this week, I went to meet an old friend for lunch in Boston. Thankfully, I arrived in the Back Bay early – and had time enough to discover the Shop at Trinity Church. Trinity is one of the most beautiful places in Boston.  It was designed by the architect, H.H. Richardson, and according to Trinity’s brochure, it is the only building in Boston to be honored as “one of the 10 most significant buildings in the country by a national poll of architects. In 1885, architects voted Trinity the most important building in America.” I’ve visited Trinity before, but I had not been to the shop, and the sign in front of the church brought back memories of warm and cozy shops in London churches where I always find good books, cards and gifts.

Trinity’s shop is excellent. Beautiful, well-curated, and reflective of the open and welcoming spirit of the Episcopal Church. Here are a few pictures I took – with permission of course!

photo 1

photo 4

photo 5

photo 2

This morning I finished reading Joanna Rakoff’s memoir, My Salinger Year.

Unknown-1

The book takes place over the course of one year in the mid-1990s when Rakoff was working for a prominent New York literary agency. There have been so many glowing reviews of Rakoff’s book so I’ll just link one of my favorites. But I will add that I love Rakoff’s references to working on a Selectric typewriter! It brought back so many memories and even made me miss my Selectric-days. There is a moment, early in Rakoff’s book, when she is walking to her apartment during a snowstorm and she notices how quiet the world was:

“There would be other blizzards in New York, but none that generated such silence, none in which I could stand on a street corner and feel myself to be the only person in the universe, none, certainly that stopped the city entire. By the time the next blizzard of such proportions arrived, the world had changed. Silence was no longer possible.”

That passage made me miss that kind of quiet. As much as I love what my phone and laptop allow me to do, I remember that hushed feeling. Sometimes at work in the mid-1990s, the only noise I could hear was the sound of my Selectric.

Here’s The Guardian’s review of Rakoff’s book – and check out the photo of the British cover. I like it better than the American cover.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jun/06/my-salinger-year-joanna-rakoff-review-memoir

 

One thought on “The Shop at Trinity Church

Leave a Reply

