Book Fair – Day One!

2 Comments

I’m playing store all week – with real money!  It’s spring book fair time, truly one of the happiest weeks of the year!   And the day began with two fun book notes….

First, I read that President Obama read Maurice Sendak’s book, Where the Wild Things Are, during the White House Easter Egg Roll – and that he made monster faces.  That’s awesome – you have to admire a president who gives a spirited read aloud!

images

My second book-related smile of the day came when a student gave this to me. As you can see, they kindly got a new copy of the book…

photo 3

So funny!  I wonder if their dog has read the whole series….

The Book Fair has only been open for two hours so its hard to see any trends yet, but I think Oliver Jeffers’ picture book The Day the Crayons Quit will be a big seller. Along with all of the popular Who Was titles.

photo 4

photo 2

And here’s a sign I put near Flora and Ulysses: “Read This – and you’ll never look at a squirrel the same way!”

photo 1

2 thoughts on “Book Fair – Day One!

  1. I just sent The Day the Crayons Quit to our friend’s grandson who hosted us on a recent vacation. It was a huge hit along with a box set of the Mr Men series by Roger Hargreave. I guess he wouldn’t stop reading which I consider a good thing!

    • Hi Elaine,
      What a colorful and fun gift! I know many children who are fans of the Mr. Men and Little Miss series.

Leave a Reply

