14 Books to Celebrate 2014…

2 Comments

Unknown-1

Happy New Year!  Sorry for the delay in posting. It was a little busy here, but I’m ready to get back to reading and recommending. In honor of 2014, here is a list of 14 books I’m looking forward to reading in the year ahead:

Unknown title – but it’s a sequel to Brooklyn by Colm Toibin. (apologies for beginning this list with a book I can’t name, but it is the book about which I’m most excited. I read Brooklyn a few years ago and it remains one of the novels I often recommend to friends. Earlier today, I read an article on the BBC website, and there was a reference to a sequel to Brooklyn being published in 2014. It was the best news I’ve heard in 2014!)

The Vacationers by Emma Straub (being published in May, this story about a family’s vacation in Mallorca has potential to be one of the big summer reads. My interest is based on early blurbs from Elizabeth Gilbert and Maria Semple – and seeing the book listed on a few “books to watch out for” lists.)

Unknown

The Art of the Disney Golden Books (I admit that sometimes, in the grocery store, I stand at the Golden Book spinner and look at the marvelous illustrations in some of the Disney stories that are still published as Golden Books. Mary Blair, Alice and Martin Provensen, Bill Peet and many others created illustrations for Golden Books – and now they will all be in one book!)

Between Two Worlds by Katherine Kirkpatrick (young adult book about a Inuit boy and the explorer, Robert E. Peary.)

Unknown

Zane and the Hurricane: A Story of Katrina by Rodman Philbrick (a novel about a boy visiting relatives in New Orleans when the hurricane hits.)

Unknown-2

Rules of Summer by Shaun Tan (Tan, the artist who created The Arrival among other stunning and thoughtful books, is truly one of those authors from whom I would willingly pay full price for his grocery list.  His new book, according to the official description, is about rules.  Out in April!)

Unknown-1

Hi Koo by Jon Muth (If you know Zen Shorts or Zen Ties, you will share my enthusiasm for a new book by Muth. Hi Koo is a haiku book of course!)

Junkyard by Mike Austin (a picture book about robots!  If you’ve been to the Inly Library, you will understand my enthusiasm for this book. I really like robots. No idea why, but there’s a whole shelf of robots in our school library and, of course, lots of books about them. Not only fact-based books about how robots are used in science and to vacuum stairs, but books like Robot Zot! and The Robot and the Bluebird. And in January, I can add Junkyard to our growing collection!)

Maple by Lori Nichols (This picture book will be released in mid-February, but I saw a few of the illustrations and it looks incredibly sweet. The story of a little girl, a maple tree and her baby sister.)

Meanwhile Back at the Ranch by Anne Isaacs and illustrated by Kevin Hawkes (I love the title, Kevin Hawkes is terrific, and Anne Isaacs is the author of the Caldecott Honor Book, Swamp Angel. This one is about Widow Tulip Jones from England – who inherits a ranch in Texas.)

Princess Sparkle-Heart Gets a Makeover by Josh Schneider (Schnider wrote the Geisel Award winner, Tales for Very Picky Eaters. And now…a princess book. This is very good news for those of us who loan books to six-year-olds!)

Unknown

Dance Like Starlight: One Ballerina’s Dream by Kristy Dempsey and illustrated by Floyd Cooper. (Floyd Cooper is one of my favorite illustrators. If you don’t know his work, look at A Beach Tail. This story of the first African American star ballerina is sure to be popular among my twirling and spinning students.)

The Pigeon Needs a Bath! by Mo Willems (mark your calendars – April 1.  A new book about the world’s most famous pigeon is a red-letter day, especially in the library world. I should start the waiting list when I return to school next week!)

Unknown-3

The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupery by Peter Sis (a picture book biography by one of the greatest living illustrators. Published in May)

It looks like a big year!  Off we go….

2 thoughts on “14 Books to Celebrate 2014…

  1. I’m looking forward to June and the eighth book of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series release “Written in My Own Hearts Blood” (strange title, but I LOVE this series). I will have to lift some weights to get ready for hefting this book around – 832 pages!!

Leave a Reply

