President Obama’s Book List

Leave a comment

Unknown

The idea of Small Business Saturday seems to be catching on. I called a friend’s house on Saturday, and her husband told me she was out “shopping at small businesses.”  I was happy for the excuse (not that I need one) to buy books from Buttonwood Books and Toys on Saturday, but my purchases will remain a secret because I bought books for my dad and he reads my blog.  I can only admit to purchasing Bill Bryson’s new book, One Summer: America 1927 – because I already told him not to buy it himself!

However….I can tell you what President Obama bought on Saturday. He and his daughters went to Politics and Prose in Washington, D.C. Politics and Prose is one of the most popular independent bookstores in Washington. It’s the place to hear the authors of the latest political books and to catch up on what powerful and influential people are reading. According to reports, President Obama bought books for his own family and a few gifts.  Here are the books purchased by our Commander in Chief:

Half Brother by Kenneth Oppel

Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus (such a great book! We read this one with our 6th graders at Inly.)

Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo (I was so happy to see this one on the list. I hope President Obama keeps it for himself. It may cheer him up!)

Jinx by Sage Blackwood (on my list – now moved up a few notches)

Lulu and the Brontosaurus by Judith Viorst and Lane Smith

Ottoline and the Yellow Cat by Chris Riddell (Ugh. Don’t know this one.  Need to remedy that situation)

Moonday by Adam Rex

Journey by Aaron Becker (2013’s most beautiful book – maybe he’s giving this one to Michelle)

The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (planning to read over holiday break!)

Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews

Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson (this is why I voted for Obama. If he loves Harold, he has to be a good guy)

A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra (my husband is reading this one!)

The Sports Gene: Inside the Science of Extraordinary Athletic Performance by David Epstein

Collision Low Crossers: A Year Inside the Turbulent World of NFL Football by Nicholas Dawidoff

Ballad of the Sad Cafe and Other Stories by Carson McCullers (haven’t read since college – maybe time for a re-read)

My Antonia by Willa Cather (one of my all time favorite novels)

Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini  

Bhudda in the Attic by Julie Otsuka

All That Is by James Salter (just bought this as a gift to myself!)

Wild by Cheryl Strayed (just the thought of being alone on the Pacific Crest Trail scares me away from this one)

One more thing….

When this student walked into the Library, I literally asked the rest of her class to wait while I took her picture…

photo

Leave a Reply

