The New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books of 2013…

Leave a comment

Unknown

It’s not the Academy Awards or the Grammys that make my heart race. And as happy as I am about the Red Sox winning the World Series, even that victory pales in comparison to the annual announcement of the New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Illustrated Children’s Books of the Year.  When I read the titles I try to “see” only one of them at a time so I can think about that book before uncovering the next title.  And it’s especially fun to compare the list with my predictions.

This year’s list was announced yesterday, and it includes some surprises as well as two books I haven’t seen.  That makes it extra-fun because I have new books to discover.  I guessed correctly about My Brother’s Book by Maurice Sendak, Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson, and Journey by Aaron Becker. I am totally excited about Jane, The Fox and Me , Fog Island. and Locomotive.  All of these books are so beautiful that if I held them all in my hands at one time, I might feel a little dizzy.

Unknown-2

I am most looking forward to seeing Holland by Charlotte Demantons.  Holland is one of my favorite places in the whole world and, although I’m sorry not to know about this book earlier, it’s like an unanticipated gift.

Here’s the whole list…

-My Brother’s Book by Maurice Sendak (HarperCollins/di Capua)
Ballad by Blexbolex, trans. from the French by Claudia Z. Bedrick (Enchanted Lion)
– Jemmy Button by Jennifer Uman and Valerio Vidali (Candlewick/Templar)
– The Dark by Lemony Snicket, illus. by Jon Klassen (Little, Brown)
– Holland by Charlotte Dematons (Lemniscaat)
– Journey by Aaron Becker (Candlewick)
– Fog Island by Tomi Ungerer (Phaidon)
– Jane, The Fox and Me by Fanny Britt, trans. from the French by Christelle Morelli and Susan Ouriou, illus. by Isabelle Arsenault (Groundwood Books/House of Anansi Press)
– Locomotive by Brian Floca (S&S/Atheneum/Jackson)
– Nelson Mandela by Kadir Nelson (HarperCollins/Tegen)

The other book I don’t know is Jemmy Button.  I need to fix that over the weekend!

Happy Reading…

Leave a Reply

