One More Summer Getaway….

Leave a comment

School starts tomorrow!  I’m looking forward to seeing the kids and hearing what books they read this summer.  But, this past weekend, before “real life” begins again, my husband and I went to New York City.  There were so many book-related things to see, and I took lots of pictures to share with you….

First, Matilda the Musical.  I can only say if you get the chance, see it.  Based on Roald Dah’s novel, it is a exuberant celebration of stories.  It’s funny and clever and wise. But what I loved most about seeing it right before a new school year is its emphasis on the power of the printed word. It reminded me that every time a child opens a book, they are transforming their lives. I left the theater grateful that I can share my love for books with kids every day.

photo-4

I would also recommend a wonderful bookstore in Greenwich Village – McNally Jackson. This is the most carefully curated selection of books I’ve ever seen outside of someone’s home. It is a literary geek’s paradise – books hanging from the ceiling, translated books from all over the world, and two floors of books you won’t find at Barnes and Noble.

photo-9

photo-8

As much as I loved McNally Jackson, this window display at a 5th Avenue Barnes and Noble caught my attention. If you’re interested in what they’re reading at J.P. Morgan, here’s their impressive and well-rounded reading list:

photo-5

Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

Kiss Your But Good-bye: How to Get Beyond the One Word That Stands Between You and Success by Joe Azelby and Bob Azelby

The Soundtrack of My Life by Clive Davis

My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

Share: The Cookbook That Celebrates Our Common Humanity (Women for Women International)

Creating Room to Read: A Story of Hope in the Battle for Global Literacy by John Wood (this is one I want to check out!)

Big Data: A Revolution That Will Transform How We Live, Work, and Think by Viktor Mayer-Schonberger

The $10 Trillion Prize: Captivating the Newly Affluent in China and India by Michael Silverstein

Alone on the Ice: The Greatest Survival Story in the History of Exploration by David Roberts

Hopper Drawing (Whitney Museum of American Art)

In Barnes and Noble’s Children’s Department, I saw this book which made me laugh. I know nothing about it, but as a loyal Downton Abbey fan, I think it’s pretty funny.

photo-2

And finally, I’m not a big fan of Hello Kitty, but she looks cute in her glasses – and it seems like the perfect picture to leave you with on the night before school starts.

photo-1

Happy New School Year…

Leave a Reply

