End-of-Summer!

2 Comments

A new school year begins on Monday, and even though the kids don’t start until after Labor Day, there’s that recognizable feeling in the air. I saw Halloween decorations in two stores today. There was a sign for a pumpkin drop at the farm stand. And ads for the first NFL game are on TV.  I agree with people who think the “New Year” should be celebrated in September. I always feel more of a fresh start now than I do in January when I am trudging back to work in the snow. September is about possibility!  January is about being cold – at least if you live in this part of the country.

There are lots of new books to write about this fall. Every time I open a new box at school, I start thinking of kids who would love a certain book and planning my holiday shopping list. As soon as the Halloween decorations are put away, you know what’s next!  But for this final summer post, I’ll share a few fun things with you…

Buttonwood Books and Toys in Cohasset, Massachusetts has a new look!  The new owners closed for a day last week, sprinkled fairy dust over the store, and here’s what it looks like now.  It feels more spacious, and I love the children’s area with the books and toys near one another. If you live in the area, go check it out…

photo-3

photo

My sister sent this to me today. You may have experienced this before. I know I have:

photo-2

A little bit of Wonderland in the front yard. Walking through Hull with friend a few weeks ago, she pointed out this teacup from a ride that used to be in Paragon Park. It would be fun to sit in a cup and read the tea party scene in Alice in Wonderland!

photo-4

And finally, a personal note. I was looking at these ducks in our backyard earlier today. It reminded me of the day, years ago, when we bought them in an antique store.  My  son thought we should get three of them to represent our family. Of course, they have had a special spot in our garden every year since. Next week my son begins college, and although the three ducks will always find their way to the garden, I know that chapter is ending and a new one is beginning. I usually look forward to that in books, wondering what will happen next. I’m excited for him, but as for looking forward to it, I’m not so sure!

photo-1

2 thoughts on “End-of-Summer!

  1. I like the idea of reading Alice In Wonderland while sitting in a tea cup. But why stop there? Let’s read Heidi on a mountain top and Charlotte’s Web in a barn and Where The Wild Things Are in… hmmm… in a private boat!!

Leave a Reply

