Fishing for a New Library

Leave a comment

Not too long ago, as I walked through Scituate Harbor, I noticed there are fish hanging in most of the shop windows. Not reals ones, thank goodness. I assume the store owners would not want to smell dead fish all day. Not great for business. These fish are wood and look like this:

photo-4

As it turns out, the fish are window dressing with a cause – raising funds for a badly-needed renovation and expansion of the 35-year-old Scituate Public Library. I love the library, but it definitely needs some attention.  The fish are being sold through a silent auction this summer so I’ve been slowing down as I walk through the Harbor. It didn’t take long to narrow my choices to two children’s book-related fish that I may bid on.

Based on Marcus Pfister’s book, The Rainbow Fish:

photo-3

And an obvious theme for this project – One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss:

photo-5

For more information about the Scituate Library Foundation’s renovation project, here’s the link:

http://www.scituatelibraryfoundation.org/index.cgi?pr_mode=pc

The picture below is obviously not a fish, but seeing this was the highlight of the weekend. Taking a walk earlier today, I walked by a house with this tree in the front yard. When I thought I saw a bear, I turned down my iPod, looked around to make sure the homeowner didn’t see me trespassing, and took a few tentative steps into the front yard to snap a picture. As I got closer to the tree, a voice called out, “Do you like our bear?”  It looks like the bear is figuring out a way to jump into one of the chairs below and spend the hot day relaxing with a cool drink. You know I would have gone to Starbucks for him!

photo

Leave a Reply

