List-Mania – and a Few Other Notes….

Leave a comment

photo-1

photo

I’m looking at so many summer reading lists that I’m starting to worry that my summer reading will consist of lists!  So many lists, so little time….

Here are a few that stand out in a crowded field:

1. This article by Janet Maslin, one of the New York Times book critics, appeared in the paper on June 6. I just read it yesterday – on purpose. I love her annual list of beach (guilt- free) summer books so much that I held on to it until school was out for the summer and I could give it my full attention.  Lookaway, Lookaway by Wilton Barnhardt sounds like a good beach read, doesn’t it?  Publication date is August 20. Here’s a link to Maslin’s article:

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/06/07/books/beach-reads-from-stephen-king-kevin-kwan-carl-hiaasen-and-more.html?ref=janetmaslin&_r=0

2. NPR has so much book coverage that, quite frankly, I often feel happily overwhelmed.  Here’s a link to their story: 5 Great Reads for Teens. The book I added to my own list from this piece — The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence. Link to the other 4 titles:

http://www.npr.org/2013/06/11/190371764/schools-out-5-great-summer-reads-for-teens?ft=3&f=111787346&sc=nl&cc=es-20130616

3.  I love BuzzFeed’s list of “38 Perfect Books to Read With Kids.”  Perfect for this time of the year when there’s lots of time for reading aloud. 

http://www.buzzfeed.com/alannaokun/books-for-kids?utm_source=Publishers+Weekly&utm_campaign=ef2fb2d0db-UA-15906914-1&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_0bb2959cbb-ef2fb2d0db-304433593

4. Publishers Weekly had an article about Betsey Detwiler, the long-time owner of Buttonwood Books and Toys (my favorite independent bookstore) who is retiring this summer – I was happy (and a bit relieved) to read that Buttonwood plans to stay right where it is!  Here’s the whole story:

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/industry-news/bookselling/article/57703-new-owner-for-buttonwood-books.html

5. And, finally….the picture of the dog bowls at the top of this post.  My sister’s travels through Michigan included a visit to Brilliant Books in Traverse City. How “brilliant” is this? Each bowl has a book cover above it – which must be dog language to make sure they drink from the corresponding watering station. I love that Biscuit is over the small bowl.  The owners have placed the cover of The Story of Edgar Sawtelle over the biggest bowl, but I think Clifford would be the appropriate choice!

I’ve been reading Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor book, Code Name Verity – and it’s as good as every glowing review promised. The story of a friendship between two young British women during WWII, it is written as a series of confessions by one of the two women after she is captured in Nazi-occupied France.  I was trying to read it before Wein’s new companion novel, Rose Under Fire, is published later this summer.  

Enjoy the lists….

Leave a Reply

