Ice Cream – and Random Acts of Reading

Leave a comment

The evidence of warm sunny days ahead was right in front of me as I approached the ice cream store and there was a line. I can’t remember the last time I was so happy to join a long line!  I was thinking how great it would be to have a time lapse camera and you could watch the line growing and shrinking based on the weather. But the best part was the sign near the cash register which keeps the frustration in check – unless you’re too young to read and just want your ice cream!

photo-1

After being served my first scoop of the season, I started thinking about Frog and Toad. I am truly like Pavlov’s dog when it comes to connecting ice cream with Frog and Toad. I’m referring to the story that begins on page 30 of Frog and Toad All Year, called appropriately enough – Ice Cream.

9780064440592_p0_v1_s260x420

Here are the opening lines:

One hot summer day

Frog and Toad sat by the pond.

“I wish we had some

sweet, cold ice cream,” said Frog.

“What a good idea,” said Toad.

“Wait right here, Frog.

I will be back soon.”

Toad went to the store.

He bought two big ice-cream cones.

It’s clear trouble is ahead. A hot day. Waiting for ice cream.  This is a classic that every child needs to know. Although fair warning: they may never be able to eat ice cream without picturing Toad completely covered in chocolate!

Unknown

If you want more ice cream-related entertainment, read Should I Share My Ice Cream? by Mo Willems in which the age old question of sharing ice cream is answered in the affirmative!  Just get two spoons…

Over the past few days, I’ve caught several random happy book moments at school….

photo-2

photo

photo-3

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

