Doug Unplugged – and a Few Other Things…

Leave a comment

I had not planned to post today, but so many good things happened: a perfect picture book, flowers that seemed to pose for a photograph, a new poster, and a cute elephant. Lots to share…

9780375866432_p0_v1_s260x420

Since first reading Every Friday by Dan Yaccarino, I have been a devotee of the Yaccarino’s books. Every Friday is the story of a boy and his father who have breakfast at the same local diner every Friday. The book has a 50’s look to it which makes me nostalgic for a decade I didn’t even live in!  It’s awesome – and a great book for a child and parent to read together and maybe plan their own weekly ritual. But now….Yaccarino has a new book – Doug Unplugged – and I am ready to join the official Yaccarino fan club! There are no words for how much I love this book. Tomorrow, I’m going to read it to a group of 7th and 8th graders and then later in the day, I’ll share it with a group of 1st and 2nd graders. Doug Unplugged is a versatile book!

Doug is a robot. On their way out the door in the morning, they plug Doug in…right through his belly button. Happy downloading,” his dad says!  Doug absorbs all kinds of facts and numbers before a pigeon on the windowsill gets his attention. He decides to unplug…and step out into the world and explore.  Doug discovers the subway and crowded streets and playing hide-and-seek and friends!  I could relate to Doug’s exuberance – not about finding a playground, but about discovering such a wonderful new book!

Perhaps Doug’s enthusiasm for the outdoors inspired me to pay more attention. Walking across campus this afternoon, I saw these perfect little flowers. Not one petal looks “tired.” In fact, they seem to be saying “take our picture – we won’t stay like this for long!”  So I did…

photo-4

Two more surprises this afternoon. First, a middle school student came by with this awesome poster she made for the library:

photo

And finally, a text from my sister included this picture –

Happy Almost-Weekend!

photo-5

Leave a Reply

