I’m a Shark by Bob Shea

Leave a comment

imashark

I never expected to use the word “cute” to describe a shark, but look at him!  When I took Bob Shea’s delightful new picture book, I’m a Shark, out of the box, cute was the first word that came to mind. The bright, boldly-drawn shark is funny, lovable and afraid of spiders! On the opening page, the shark tells the reader he’s awesome. On page two, he proudly announces “When I get a shot, I don’t even cry.”  But as soon as he’s asked about a “creepy spider,” he betrays a bad case of arachnophobia!  I have a good friend who is frightened of spiders, even pictures of them. She and this cute shark would get along just fine.

I’m already anticipating the waiting list for this book. It’s going to be a hit – with kids who love sharks and spiders!  For a lively story time, pair Shea’s book with Shark vs. Train by Chris Barton. One is shark v. spider and the other is shark v. machine.

Leave a Reply

