Five Spoonfuls of Sugar to Help the Medicine Go Down!

Leave a comment

076364756x-300x263

The tissue box in the school library is almost empty – again. Between the students and me, we are making short work of it. Of course, many of the kids are at home sneezing and blowing their noses. My friends in the medical world tell me there are long lines in their offices. Today’s headline on Boston.com is “Mayor Menino declares flu health emergency in Boston.”  I don’t have the flu, but I do feel achy and yucky.  If you have a sick child at home who would enjoy a fun story along with their chicken soup, here are five good books about being sick. They’re not guaranteed to cure the cold, but they will definitely make the day a bit brighter!

Sniffles for Bear by Bonny Becker (I love this series of books about the curmudgeonly bear and his best friend, a cheery mouse)

Llama Llama Home with Mama by Anna Dewdney (part of the sweet and popular series about the llama who always wears red pajamas)

A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead (I read this book to a class today and was reminded what a perfect picture book this is. When I finished reading, one of the boys said “I can see why you like that one!”)

Bear Feels Sick by Karma Wilson (I left this book on display today and here are two kids who found it! Maybe they can relate….)

photo

How Do Dinosaurs Get Well Soon? by Jane Yolen (The answer: “He drinks lots of juice, and he gets lots of rest. He’s good at the doctor’s, ’cause doctors know best.”)

To all of you who may be sneezing and blowing your nose….I would suggest reading a good book – and following the dino’s advice!

Leave a Reply

