A Cozy Book for a Winter Night…

Leave a comment

It makes no sense that I love this book so much. As regular readers know, I’m not a big fan of ice or snow. My idea of a winter sport is speed reading!  But…Twelve Kinds of Ice by Ellen Bryan Obed and illustrated by Barbara McClintock is so beautiful that it can’t help but make you happy and maybe even a bit nostalgic about snowy days.

It’s a hard book to describe. There are twelve short vignettes about ice – and the many activities associated with ice. McClintock’s pen-and-ink illustrations of winter scenes are lovely and magical.

When I was a young girl, I discovered a cabinet in my grandmother’s house that was filled with Bobbsey Twins books. Twelve Kinds of Ice feels like a book that I might have found tucked between The Bobbsey Twins at Lakeport and The Secret at the Seashore. It’s a small book which adds to the feel of a discovered treasure. I’m not inspired to go ice skating, but Obed’s book does bring back memories of snow days and makes me cross my fingers for at least one “bonus day” this winter!

Leave a Reply

