Thirteen Thoughts…

3 Comments

For the past two days, I’ve been thinking about the White Rabbit in Alice in Wonderland who says: “Oh dear! Oh dear! I shall be too late!”  My first resolution of 2013 was to write a post on January 1 listing 13 items that are fun, interesting, or noteworthy.  I am two days behind already – which does not bode well for the year ahead, but… in honor of 2013, here are 13 things I’ve been thinking about:

1. Feet – sometimes wearing shoes. There’s a trend in the covers of young adult novels. Lots of books that look like these:

romeo

0375832580

2. When we were in New York over the holidays, I saw this beautiful sculpture by John Rogers – “The Courtship in Sleepy Hollow: Ichabod Crane and Katrina Van Tassel, 1868.”  Rogers made three versions of this scene from Washington Irving’s spooky and funny story, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

photo-5

3. One of the pleasures of working in a school library is finding notes from students on my desk. I found one yesterday that read: “Can you plug this book in?” I have no idea what the girl was referring to. What book? Plug it into what? Are they asking if we have e-books?  It’s an awesome note!

4. The Secret of the Stone Frog by David Nytra.  A new graphic novel for readers between the ages of 7 and 12. I read it yesterday and plan to read it again. It’s magical and haunting and beautiful. The story of two children who wake up in an enchanted forest, it’s a mix between Alice in Wonderland, Hansel and Gretel and a Victorian fantasy.

5. Cold Snap, a new picture book by Eileen Spinelli and illustrated by Marjorie Priceman. It’s nine degrees outside and Priceman’s brightly colored and cheery pictures will warm us up.  The story is about a town going through such a bad cold snap that “Franky Tornetta stopped whining about his itchy woolen socks and put on three pairs.”  The mayor’s wife comes up with a solution involving hot cider and doughnuts so you know it’s a good one!

spinelli coldsnap

6. I took this picture in the parking lot of a popular shopping center on Christmas Day. We drove by, and I stopped to take it as proof that there is one day of the year when we are not shopping – Thanksgiving can’t be included anymore. 

photo

7. My son has introduced my husband and me to jazz, a form of music that we didn’t know we liked. It has been one of the great joys of the past few years to learn about it from him. He has taken us to hear amazing musicians, filled my iPod with new names and opened up a world of music and stories. Right now, I’m listening to one of my favorite recordings – Blackbird from Brad Meldau’s Art of the Trio.

8. Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver. After finishing Gone Girl a couple of days ago, I thought it would be hard to get into a new book. Last night I read the first 15 pages, and I’m hooked.

9. One more gift…I’m looking forward to Maurice Sendak’s posthumously published book, My Brother’s Book – a tribute to his brother, Jack.

10. It’s a few months away, but Transatlantic, a new novel by Colum McCann, the author of Let the Great World Spin will be published in time for summer reading.

11. Early buzz about Wise Men, a novel by Stuart Nadler that takes place on Cape Cod. I love the cover:

images

12. The third season of Downton Abbey – I know this is hardly an original reason to look forward to the new year, but watching Maggie Smith and the rest of the cast is a delightful escape from dark cold evenings!

13. My Family, and Reading, and Music, and Trips to Starbucks with Friends, maybe a trip to Ohio, and so many other fun times ahead…Happy New Year!

3 thoughts on “Thirteen Thoughts…

  1. Only two more days until Downton Abbey Season 3! I just can’t wait to get swepted up into the lives of these characters.

Leave a Reply

