Five Books to Read by the Christmas Tree

Leave a comment

We finally got our tree up, lit and decorated last night, and as soon as we plugged in the lights, I had that cozy feeling that only a Christmas tree brings. The arrival of the tree changes my evening reading routine. Rather than taking my book upstairs, I read in the chair next to it. That explains why my favorite ornaments are always on the left side of the tree – I want to be able to see them when I look up from my book!

Like the mouse in If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, I feel like the character in: If you Give a Girl a Tree….only instead of milk, I want a book. The Christmas tree makes me want to read all of my favorite Christmas stories.  If your family is looking for the perfect book to read next to the Christmas tree, here are five picture books you should check out:

Mr. Willowby’s Christmas Tree by Robert Barry (Ask any fan of Christmas books, and I guarantee this 1963 favorite will be on their list.  It may also be one of the first children’s books about recycling!)

The Year of the Perfect Christmas Tree by Gloria Houston (A heartwarming story of an Appalachian family, share this one with children ages 5 and older. The warm, almost glowing, illustrations are by Barbara Cooney, the creator of Miss Rumphius.)

My Wonderful Christmas Tree by Dahlov Ipcar  (Ipcar is a true New England artist. She was born in Vermont, but has lived in Maine for most of her adult life. Her brightly colored paintings are part of the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, among other museums, but you can look at some of her most vivid and beautiful work right here!)

A Charlie Brown Christmas by Charles Schulz  (What would Christmas be without the story of Charlie Brown’s ragged little tree?)

Christmas Eve at the Mellops’ by Tomi Ungerer  (First published in 1960, this is a quirky little story, but it was one of my son’s favorites. It’s about the four Mellop brothers who all have the same idea – to bring a Christmas tree to their family.) 

And speaking of trees – did you see this online or on TV?  It’s a Christmas tree made entirely of china cups and plates.  The tree is in Hassalt, Belgium.   The residents all raided their cupboards and created something beautiful…

Leave a Reply

