A New Reading List for a New Year…

1 Comment

I absolutely love this time of the year. It’s not the music or the shopping or the festive gatherings – as wonderful as those things are. It’s the lists. I love “best of the year” book lists, and December seems to bring a new one every day. They’re on blogs and bookstore websites and the radio and in newspapers. Of course, there’s a lot of overlap, but that’s okay. To me, when I see the same book appear on 10 different lists, it just means I need to read it as soon as possible.

Tomorrow I’m presenting my own “best of” list during a program at the James Library in Norwell, Massachusetts. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been putting together a list of my favorites of 2012: Books for Preschoolers, Picture Books, Early Readers, Middle Grade Novels, Young Adult Novels, Nonfiction Titles, and Books I Plan to Read in 2013.

I’ll post all of my lists over the next few days, but today I’ll give you a list of the 13 books that I’m most looking forward to reading….

Adult Novels –

San Miguel by T.C. Boyle

The Round House by Louise Erdrich

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan (McEwan’s Atonement is one of my favorite novels of all time.)

The Forgiven by Lawrence Osborne

The Yellow Birds by Kevin Powers  (Earlier today, I heard this book referred to as the “The Things They Carried of the war in Iraq”)

The Forgetting Tree by Tatjana Soli

Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction –

Hattie Ever After by Kirby Larson (the sequel to Hattie Big Sky)

Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle (a middle school boy goes to New York City to audition for E.T.: The Broadway Musical)

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool (the new book by the author of the Newbery Award-winner, Moon Over Manifest)

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Picture Books –

Building Our House by Jonathan Bean (a picture book memoir of Bean and his family constructing their own house)

Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great by Bob Shea (Everything Bob Shea does is wonderful, and the fact that his new book is about a unicorn makes it even better!)

If you missed the New York Times List of 100 Notable Books – my favorite list of all – here’s the link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/12/02/books/review/100-notable-books-of-2012.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

One thought on “A New Reading List for a New Year…

Leave a Reply

