Son by Lois Lowry

Leave a comment

I went to Boston with one book this morning and came home with two!  That happens to me sometimes – actually somewhat regularly. My justification for purchasing full price books is that I was shopping in an independent bookstore. If we want independent bookstores to survive in an Amazon/e-reader world, we need to help keep their lights on!

On the way to Boston, I continued reading Lois Lowry’s new novel, Son. It’s every bit as beautiful and powerful as I knew (and hoped) it would be. I’m savoring every page, knowing this is the conclusion to the Giver series. Reading Lowry’s novels would be included on a list of “reasons I am happy to be living at this time in history.”  I think of that sometimes when I’m reading a particularly good book. If I had been born 100 years ago, I wouldn’t have known about The Giver – a thought too unbearable to consider. It’s books like The Giver and now, Son, that make my life richer and more meaningful.  I haven’t reached the end of Son yet, but this story of a young mother looking for her son is incredibly poignant and thought provoking.

The books I came home with is Louise Erdrich’s National Book Award-winning novel, The Round House. Every review I read of this book makes me want to read it more. Here’s a link to the New York Times review:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/10/14/books/review/the-round-house-by-louise-erdrich.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

