Election Day!

Leave a comment

It’s Election Day – and Inly students are casting their ballots! Of course, their votes aren’t official, but it’s a fun way to involve them in the spirit of the day and to have a hands-on citizenship lesson. One of the students asked if he could vote for Duck – as in Doreen Cronin’s Duck for President. Another student, when asked to name the state where Romney was the Governor, couldn’t do it. Here’s the thing: we live in it!

As you might expect, the older students are more informed voters. A few of them even watched part of the debates.  Another group is on a field trip today, but no worries; they voted by absentee ballot.

We also did exit polls, and here’s my favorite answer of the day. A six-year-old boy, asked who he voted for, responded: “George Washington. Because I think he’ll do a good job.”  This boy may be a historian!

I know this post has nothing to do with books, but I’m totally consumed by the election today. I’m also an Ohioan – which should explain my heightened election focus. I don’t remember Ohio ever receiving so much media attention in my life!  I’ve seen pictures in the New York Times of every small town in the state which has been great, but then again, I don’t live there so I’m not bombarded with TV ads like my family is.

Back to regular business tomorrow. In the meantime, make sure you get out and vote!

Leave a Reply

