New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books for 2012

2 Comments

Every year around this time I look forward to learning the winners of the New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books. The titles were announced today and here they are:

Bear Despair written and illustrated by Gaëtan Dorémus (Enchanted Lion)
The Beetle Book written and illustrated by Steve Jenkins (Houghton)
House Held Up by Trees written by Ted Kooser; illustrated by Jon Klassen (Candlewick)
The Hueys in the New Sweater written and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers (Philomel)
Infinity and Me written by Kate Hosford; illustrated by Gabi Swiatkowska (Carolrhoda)
Little Bird written by Germano Zullo; illustrated by Albertine (Enchanted Lion)
One Times Square: A Century of Change at the Crossroads of the World written and illustrated by Joe McKendry (Godine)
Red Knit Cap Girl written and illustrated by Naoko Stoop (Tingley/Little)
Stephen and the Beetle written by Jorge Luján; illustrated by Chiara Carrer (Groundwood)
Unspoken: A Story from the Underground Railroad written and illustrated by Henry Cole (Scholastic)

I clearly have a little catching up to do. There are a few of these books that I haven’t seen. That will change, but still, kind of a bummer. My fingers were crossed for Laura Vaccaro Seeger’s book, Green, and Ashley Wolff’s brilliant illustrations for Baby Bear Sees Blue.

Unspoken, Henry Cole’s wordless book about the Underground Railroad is gorgeous, and I am so happy to see it on the New York Times list.  I’m also thrilled about Oliver Jeffers book, The Hueys in the New Sweater, being included. Jeffers is one of the best illustrators working today.  I love House Held Up By Trees illustrated by Jon Klassen, but as much as I admire it, I wonder if the book’s appeal is more to adults than children.   And, of course, Steve Jenkins is amazing and even though I’m not a big fan of Beetles (the real ones – not the book), Jenkins works magic with cut paper and scissors.

Tomorrow promises to be a busy day. I’ve got some new picture books to check out!  Congratulations to all!!

2 thoughts on “New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books for 2012

    • Oh I know! There are several books on the list that I love and am happy to see on the list. Perhaps I was feeling that there were omissions – or
      maybe I wish the list could have been 15 books this year! But you are right – Red Knit Cap Girl is lovely!

Leave a Reply

