Celebrating Books!

2 Comments

I was driving home from the grocery store a few minutes ago and thinking about what I wanted to write on my blog today. I realized there was a common thread in my ideas – a celebration of books.  Here are some of the ways books are being celebrated:

1. As much as I love my family, I would rather have been in Washington, D.C. this past weekend for the 12th annual National Book Festival. A friend of mine (who happens to be the children’s librarian in Norwell) was in Washington last week and brought home a copy of the Washington Post’s guide to the fair which includes all of the events and a really cool question and answer section. For example, here’s a question I love: Will people bring their dogs? The answer…”One big red dog will cast a friendly shadow over the festival. Clifford is turning 50 – or 350 in dog years.”  That’s worth celebrating!  Clifford is awesome.

The festival poster (above) is also awesome. It was designed by Rafael Lopez who has created posters for the Obama campaign and stamps honoring Latin American Music Legends for the U.S. Postal Service. 

2. The Moby Dick Big Read is a celebration of a Big Whale and a Big Book. I read about the project in the paper, but hadn’t heard any of the readings until today when, at the suggestion of a friend, I listened to Tilda Swinton read Chapter One. There are going to be 135 readers (some famous and some “regular” people) reading the 135 chapters. As of today, you can access Chapters 1 through 8.  For more information, here’s the link:

http://www.mobydickbigread.com/

3. Candlewick Press is celebrating picture books with a new campaign called “We Believe in Picture Books.” The logo says it all:

2 thoughts on “Celebrating Books!

Leave a Reply

