Big Books

Leave a comment

I was in one of my favorite bookstores this past weekend – the Coop in Harvard Square. My husband, son and I parted ways as soon as we got inside, and each of us made a beeline for our favorite sections. My husband went to history and travel. My son had a stack of music magazines. And I went upstairs to fiction.  One of the best parts of browsing in the Coop is their tabletop display signs. For example, one sign read: The Book is Always Better. And, as you might expect, the table was full of books that have been made into movies. The sign was right.

But this was the best display of the day:

You can probably guess some of the titles on this table: Anna Karenina, Middlemarch, East of Eden, Atlas Shrugged.  I started wondering what a “Doorstop” display would look like in our school library. Kids enjoy immersive experiences just like adults and so, for those children who want to come home from school and escape into another world, here are a few novels for them to leave by the door:

The Harry Potter novels – all of them keep the door open, but Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (vol. 4) is a good choice.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick – actually, both of Selznick’s novels would work. You could also use Wonderstruck.

Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

Fly by Night by Frances Hardinge

By the way, I did not purchase a doorstop. I bought Tania James’s acclaimed book of short stories, Aerogrammes. It’s been on my list for awhile and then, this past Sunday’s New York Times Book Review featured an interview with Junot Diaz in which he said that James’s “superb” collection of stories helped him to recover after back surgery. And – it only has 192 pages.

Leave a Reply

