Happy Birthday, Maria Montessori!

2 Comments

What a great way to begin the day!  I turned my computer on and there, on the Google homepage, was a banner celebrating Maria Montessori’s 142nd birthday. I never dreamed I’d see the Google “G” as a sandpaper letter.  I’m always proud to work at a Montessori school, but it was fun to think of people all over the world being reminded of Dr. Montessori’s contributions to education.

If you’re intrigued by the cylinder blocks and the other cool materials pictured in Google’s banner, here are three books that are good introductions to the Montessori approach: 

Montessori: The Science Behind the Genius by Angeline Stoll Lillard

Montessori Learning in the 21st Century: A Guide for Parents and Teachers by M. Shannon Helfrich

Montessori Today: A Comprehensive Approach to Education from Birth to Adulthood by Paula Polk Lillard

And, of course, you can also visit the Inly School’s web page and learn more about Montessori, including a list of famous Montessori alumni. Here’s a link to the list:

http://www.inlyschool.org/about-inly/why-montessori.cfm

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Maria Montessori!

  1. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or
    weblog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this
    site. Studying this information So i am happy to convey
    that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed.
    I so much definitely will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this web site and give
    it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

