The Fall Books Are Coming!

1 Comment

Even if there was a freeze on publishing new books this fall – and the next, and the next – I would still be no closer to being “caught up.”  My nightstand would still groan under the weight of the books I want to read. That being said, the new book season is right around the corner and my shopping list is beginning to grow. This is the beauty (danger?) of owning an e-reader…

I have my list right next to the computer so I can add (and maybe subtract) books as I read reviews. Based on pre-publication buzz, these are the books I’m looking forward to checking out:

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce.  This one’s already out – with that cool cover. For fans of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, this is the debut novel by British writer Rachel Joyce. The story of a man who walks 600 miles to deliver a letter, the novel sounds lively and engaging.

The Pigeon Pie Mystery by Julia Stuart (the author of the charming novel, The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise. I don’t usually go for mysteries, but this one intrigues me in that Downton Abby kind of way.)

NW by Zadie Smith (I’d read Smith’s grocery list. I’m looking forward to this novel following the lives of four Londoners.)

Triburbia by Karl Taro Greenfeld (Greenfeld’s novel sounds like many of the books I enjoy, but no apologies. I love these careful observations of other lives – this one is linked stories about a group of prosperous families living in TriBeCa.)

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling (Of course I’m curious, but at 512 pages, Rowling’s first novel for adults may have to wait…)

Five others on my radar…

Dear Life: Stories by Alice Munro

Astray by Emma Donoghue

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan

The Dinner by Herman Koch

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver

And then there are all of the new Young Adult and Children’s novels…that’s a list for another day!

One thought on “The Fall Books Are Coming!

  1. You certainly are an Anglophile, Shelley! The British can turn a phrase like no other, with descriptions that always leave me satisfied. Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

