Vote Early and Often

Leave a comment

 

Casting my vote for a president, or a United States Senator is easy compared to this. I seldom, if ever, waver once I’m in the voting booth, but this one was a different story.

Have you seen NPR’s Best Teen Novel ballot?  235 novels are listed. You can vote for 10. The idea is to come up with the 100 best novels ever written for young adults. I voted yesterday and thank goodness it was a cloudy and rainy day. I needed time.

As the article points out, there are a few novels on the list of 235 that are not always considered to be young adult. Like A Catcher in the Rye. Of course, the protagonist is a young adult, but I wouldn’t look for Salinger’s novel in the YA section of the bookstore.  A good case is made for Holden’s inclusion on the list.

Check it out. Here’s the link to the ballot:

http://www.npr.org/2012/07/24/157072526/best-ever-teen-novels-vote-for-your-favorites?ft=3&f=100876926&sc=nl&cc=bn-20120726

My own “top 10” resulted in a strange list because I had 20 books that had to be included. I ended up just popping checkmarks next to 10 of them.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (After teaching this book for so many years, I’ve witnessed its power over young adults. It never fails to touch even the most reluctant reader.)

Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (young adult?  Not sure, but since it was on the list, I had to vote for it.)

The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Feed by M.T. Anderson

Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin (This may be a surprising choice on my list, but I voted for Zevin’s novel because I’ve recommended it to so many different kinds of readers – and they not only love it, they want to talk about it. Elsewhere is one of the few books on Inly’s summer reading list that doesn’t “rotate off.”  The book has been on the list since it was published in 2005)

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

My last choice was something by Robert Cormier because a list of the best fiction for young adults has to include him. There were two of his books on the list: The Chocolate War and I Am the Cheese. My checkmark ended up next to one of them. I used the “pin the tail on the donkey” approach…

No declaration of party affiliation required. You can vote from the comfort of your closest device. Go vote!

Leave a Reply

