It’s Summer – Pete the Cat Can Wear His Shoes!

Leave a comment

Until today, I was kind of hesitant about putting Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes on display in the school library.  But now that it’s Memorial Day weekend, it’s safe for Pete to go out. Growing up, I always heard that white should not be worn before Memorial Day. I don’t think people really follow that fashion guideline anymore, but still…Pete is more stylish today than he was last week!  I have to admit that the Pete the Cat phenomena has been surprising. Don’t get me wrong. The three books featuring the lanky blue cat are fun, but there’s not much of a story to them. After our movement teacher began using them in her classes, where the kids could sing and dance along with Pete, the cat began to attract a loyal following…and now our younger students regularly request a Pete-based adventure!

There are three books – soon to be four – in the Pete ouevre. Besides Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes, there are Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons.  Pete is one cool cat – nothing ruffles him, not even losing one of his groovy buttons. Next out of the gate — Pete the Cat Saves Christmas.  I hope by then that Pete has put his white shoes in storage!

Leave a Reply

