Growing a Pizza…

Leave a comment

Yesterday I was at the Boston Flower Show for a few hours, and to be honest, I was surprised they let me in. I have no “affinity” for growing things and would be hesitant to take responsibility for a cactus.  That is not to say that I don’t appreciate beautiful flowers, plants and vegetable gardens. Whenever I read books about authors (like Barbara Kingsolver) who decide to begin eating only food they can grow themselves, I am inspired to do the same – for about 5 minutes. I do, however, love farmer’s markets, especially the fun part of seeing friends while waiting in line to buy lettuce and flowers.

We went to the flower show because my husband is a really good gardener – in fact, he’s outside right now. It’s thanks to him that we sometimes have a summer salad grown entirely in our backyard.

Among all of the vendors and displays at yesterday’s show (I bought a cute stone turtle – it’s fun to decorate the garden) was a poster that caught my attention. It was about “growing a pizza.”  The idea is to involve your children in gardening by growing the ingredients to put on a pizza. What a fun and rewarding way to get kids gardening!

There was also a display of gardening books at the flower show which is where I spent most of my time. I left all of the books for “real” gardeners to my husband, and looked at the wonderful selection of books for children. These are the books that I would have bought for a young child interested in growing their own pizza – and maybe continuing on to other gardening adventures:

Growing Vegetable Soup by Lois Ehlert (we can’t live by pizza alone. can we?)

From Seed to Plant by Gail Gibbons

The Tiny Seed by Eric Carle

Gardening With Children by the Brooklyn Botanic Garden

Roots, Shoots, Buckets and Boots: Activities To Do in the Garden by Sharon Lovejoy

Sunflower Houses: A Book for Children and Their Grown Ups by Sharon Lovejoy

To learn more about growing a pizza, check out this link:

http://www.reneesgarden.com/articles/pizza.html

And while we’re on the subject….a fun book to read after eating your home grown pizza would be Pete’s a Pizza by William Steig. We used to read this to our son all of the time and, of course, act it out.

Leave a Reply

