3 Fun Things to Know About

Leave a comment

I kept writing Post-it notes today about cool things I wanted to mention on my blog. At the end of the day, there were 3 yellow squares on my desk. This is what they were about:

1.  I made a note about this beautiful illustration from February13th  issue of The New Yorker (I was a bit behind…) The picture appeared in the calendar section to promote a program celebrating the 50th anniversary of Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. It was done by Jim Stoten, an English illustrator. I just visited his very cool web site which you can do too…

http://www.jimtheillustrator.co.uk/editorial.php 

2. A friend sent me this awesome video about a bookstore in England and the origin of the phrase “Keep Calm and Carry On”  You have to check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FrHkKXFRbCI

3. Very excited about a book I don’t own yet but has been pre-ordered since first reading about it — When I Was a Child I Read Books by Marilynne Robinson.  The author of Gilead, Robinson now has a book of essays about, in the words of Publishers Weekly, “Big Themes.”  It sounds like a pretty dense book, but I’m going to save it for the summer when I have more time to think about Big Themes.

No Big Themes were on my list today, just thinking about the summer reading list. I added lots of good books today…including Ashley Wolf’s new picture book, Baby Bear Sees Blue. It may be the cutest book about colors in the whole colorful world!

Leave a Reply

