Two Things Worth Checking Out…

Leave a comment

Incredible timing…I happen to be teaching a fairy tale unit to a group of 4th, 5th and 6th grade students right now, and when I opened my e-mail today, this was waiting. I know what the kids are going to see tomorrow:

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2012/02/27/childrens-book-posters/

Not two hours later, after marveling at the incredible fairy tale illustrations (I hope you clicked on the above link), I was listening to NPR’s All Things Considered, and there was a story about the 50th anniversary of Madeleine L’Engle’s classic novel, A Wrinkle in Time.  What particularly struck me about the NPR story was hearing Rebecca Stead refer to the plot as “complicated.” I remember reading A Wrinkle in Time in middle school, and feeling a little (actually a lot) confused. At first, I blamed the entire science fiction genre, thinking that because I am not a fan of science fiction, the time travel was just too hard to follow. An admission: I’ve never seen Star Trek and have only seen the original Star Wars one time – which was enough.

Only later did I embrace my confusion. It was okay. The cool part was knowing I had read something important, and maybe something I was going to have to read again – a whole new concept! After reading the novel again as an adult, I’m still not sure I could draw an accurate map of Meg’s itinerary, but L’Engle’s novel has been the inspiration for a lifetime of wondering.

Here’s the link to the story:

http://www.npr.org/2012/03/05/146161011/the-unlikely-best-seller-a-wrinkle-in-time-turns-50

Leave a Reply

