Nursery Rhyme Comics

3 Comments

How great is this?  Today, I asked a 6-year-old girl about a very overdue library book. Her response: “When I bring that book back, you may want to have your special tape ready!”  While I appreciate her honesty, I’m already guessing that the book will be added to the recycling bin. These things happen in a school library. Luckily, I work in a school that is very good to their library, and we can generally replace “what the dog ate.” 

A few new books landed on our shelves today and what I love the most (for today) is Nursery Rhyme Comics, a collection of 50 rhymes illustrated by different cartoonists, including Jules Feifer, Gene Luen Yang and Roz Chast. This is one of those books that will be just as popular with 3rd grade students as it will be with 12-year-olds. The artists use old and familiar rhymes and imagine them in creative and often very funny ways. For example, Yang sets “Pat-a-Cake” in an alien spacecraft.  And when you see the book, check out page 26 and check out what happens to Jack’s bum when he jumps over the candlestick!

If you’re a teacher, this is a good book to have available in the classroom. You can introduce the poems and ask the students to draw their own pictures. It would be fun to assign a few students the same rhyme to  illustrate and compare the different ways they interprete the same material. The possibilities are endless.  

This book will be checked out as soon as it hits our library shelves. But that may take a few days. For now, it’s on my nightstand so I can enjoy it this evening – and maybe tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Nursery Rhyme Comics

  1. Nursery Rhyme Comics looks like it might be right up or alley – perfect for every age here. I’ll have to see if I can get my hands on one at one of the good bookstores around here!

  2. I love this book, but guess what! I couldn’t believe it when a kindergartener came in with it, showed it to me, and said, “This is an inappropriate book for our library.” I thought to myself, “Oh, no…” And she showed me the picture of Jack from Jack Be Nimble with the tippy top of his rear end showing because his pants were on fire from jumping over the candlestick! I thanked her for letting me know and sharing her important opinion, and that she certainly didn’t have to check it out again if she wasn’t comfortable! Interesting they are, those kindergarteners!

    • Hi Devin,

      That is so funny! That picture seems to be about science – this is what fire does!
      I think the student was correct though – some of the humor in this book would probably be lost on a kindergarten student.
      Hope all is well…

Leave a Reply

