News From the Children’s Book World…

Leave a comment

On January 10, Walter Dean Myers will become the new national ambassador for young people’s literature. The award-winning author of many books for children and young adults, Myers is best known for his novels about urban life.  When I read the news in the New York Times (link below), I thought of all of my middle school students who have read and loved Myers’ novels.  He’s one of those authors that I “go to” when a student tells me they don’t like to read. After they read Monster or Fallen Angels, I have no doubt that they will ask for another one.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/03/books/walter-dean-myers-ambassador-for-young-peoples-literature.html?_r=1&scp=2&sq=walter%20dean%20myers&st=cse

In other news, I was sad to read about the death of Simms Taback, the Caldecott-winning illustrator of Joseph Had a Little Overcoat.  I remember how excited I was twelve years ago when they announced that Joseph had won the 2000 Caldecott medal.  The colorful, folk-art like illustrations are so appealing that I flip through the book every time I reshelve it.  Taback was also the illustrator of a funny version of the folk tale, There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly – a story time favorite!

Here’s the link to the article about Taback:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/01/books/simms-taback-writer-and-illustrator-of-childrens-books-dies-at-79.html

I have a pile of new books to look through so I’ll be sure to post a review of my weekend reading…

Leave a Reply

