Gratitude and Resolutions

2 Comments

This will be my last post of 2011 so I want to take a minute and look both ways – behind and ahead. If I imagine each year of my life as its own book, the 2011 volume was a good one.

First, a look back:

– I am grateful to the men and women who write for The New York Times. I know that sounds crazy, but my appreciation is sincere. Because the New York Times continues to commit resources to having people in every corner of the world, we have a broader lens. There are lots of things competing for our attention – books and magazines and blogs – but every morning, thanks to the Times, I have the world on my kitchen table or on my computer screen. If you have time over the holidays, watch Page One, a documentary about the news business and the New York Times. It made me so grateful for their commitment to the news – and their daily book reviews.

– I am grateful to work in a school where I spend my days talking about books and reading and writing. To be one of a group of dedicated professionals who help to expand a child’s view of the world and themselves is truly an honor – not to mention entertaining and inspiring.  

– I am grateful for my family and friends – and to all of you who read my blog.  I know how much there is to read (see above!) and the fact that you include Sommer Reading on your list is deeply appreciated.

– Books. I don’t think there’s been a day of my life (since I learned to read) when books did not give me comfort, escape, knowledge, empathy and a never ending desire to learn more. I’m grateful to the amazing authors and illustrators who enrich my student’s lives – and my own.

Looking Ahead…

I’ve already started a list of books to purchase in 2012….here are a few I’m particularly looking forward to:

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (a new young adult novel by the author of Looking for Alaska)

And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano and illustrated by Erin Stead (Stead is the Caldecott-winning illustrator of A Sick Day for Amos McGee so this is an automatic purchase)

The Duckling Gets a Cookie!? by Mo Willems (I can think of about 50 kids who will be waiting for this on April 3! Already on order.)

Infinity Ring (a seven-book series on time travel that will have an online game componet – I’m curious…)

The Moon Over High Street by Natalie Babbitt (a new novel by the author of Tuck Everlasting)

May B. by Caroline Starr Rose (middle grade novel about a girl abandoned during a snowstorm in Kansas)

Glory Be by Augusta Scattergood (First there was Ida B. and now May B. and Glory Be – what’s going on? At any rate, this novel about 1964 Mississippi sounds like a good one)

I’m also looking forward to spending time with my family and friends, reading more books, having fun with my students and colleagues, and of course, writing more blog posts.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Gratitude and Resolutions

Leave a Reply

