Good News for Real Books – and Fans of Toad, Ratty, Mole and Mr. Badger

Leave a comment

I seldom wake up expecting to be cheered by the headlines in the New York Times, but I was this morning. Here it is…proof that “real” books have not been replaced by e-readers and other mechanical tablets.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/12/13/books/steve-jobs-biography-and-other-hot-titles-bookstore-lures.html?_r=1&src=rechp

And even though there is no opening date yet, here’s something to look forward to – The Wind in the Willows is coming to the stage!  The very promising part of this is that the musical is being written by Julian Fellowes, the creator of Downton Abbey.  I’d be worried about the prospect of Kenneth Grahame’s beloved characters singing on the river bank, but if you’ve watched the BBC’s Downton Abbey, you know we are in good hands. If you can’t wait for the play, there are many beautiful versions of The Wind in the Willows available. I have a few illustrated versions, but one that I especially love is the version illustrated by English illustrator, Michael Foreman.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s