What To Read After Percy Jackson

1 Comment

I had a request today. A friend told me that her twelve-year-old son is a reluctant reader, but he has loved all of Rick Riordan’s books, especially the Percy Jackson series. He’s more enthusiastic about reading now, and his mother would like a few suggestions for books to put under the Christmas tree. I’ve heard about this post-Rick Riordan crash a lot over the past few months. Of course, there are always new Riordan books being published. Book Two in the Heroes of Olympus series – The Son of Neptune – was just published, but there are other books out there waiting to be discovered, so when the weather outside is frightful, here are a few ideas:

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott (15-year-old twins saving the world from the forces of evil)

The Inquisitor’s Apprentice by Chris Moriarty (This is a brand new book and it’s getting rave reviews. A fantasy set in early 20th century New York City)

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau (The first installment in a series of 4 novels, we read this in some of our middle school classes, and the kids always want to continue reading.)

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens (A countess, evil creatures, heroes – this is the first installment in a planned trilogy)

Purple Heart by Patricia McCormick  (A story of a young American soldier in Iraq, this one is radically different from the fantasy novels listed above. I include it here because it’s been popular with twelve-and thirteen-year-old reluctant readers.)

If you’re fantasy reader is a little younger, check out the Charlie Bone series by British author, Jenny Nimmo.  So far, there are 8 books in that series so it will keep your reader busy until the flowers start to bloom!

Advertisements

One thought on “What To Read After Percy Jackson

  1. Kate is a Rick Riordan addict. The Inquisitor’s Apprentice and The Emerald Atlas are going on the Christmas list. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s