New York Times Selects the 10 Best Illustrated Books of 2011

2 Comments

The day had been circled on my calendar for weeks – and although I could have “peeked” on-line in a few places before Sunday – I waited. Yesterday morning, I woke up early and waited to hear the “plop” of the Sunday New York Times landing in our driveway.  I brought the paper in, pulled the book review from the center, and opened it to this year’s announcement of the Best Illustrated Books. A perfect moment, complete with a hot mocha from Starbucks at my side. 

There are always a few books on the list I would have bet on, for example Lane Smith’s Grandpa Green. And then there are others….In fact, this year, there are two picture books that I didn’t know about until yesterday – Migrant by Maxine Trottier and A New Year’s Reunion by Yu Li-Qiong.

The cover of Migrant took my breath away when I looked at in on-line. It’s lovely, isn’t it?  The illustrator is Isabelle Arsenault. I just looked her up to learn what other books she’s illustrated, and it turns out I have one – My Letter to the World and Other Poems by Emily Dickinson. I remember purchasing the book because of Arsenault’s beautiful cover. 

Here’s a link to the New York Times on-line slide show. Definitely worth checking out:

http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2011/11/09/books/bkr-illo-ss.html

2 thoughts on “New York Times Selects the 10 Best Illustrated Books of 2011

Leave a Reply

