National Book Award Finalists

2 Comments

The finalists for the National Book Awards were named last Wednesday.  You can see all of the covers by clicking the link below:

http://www.nationalbook.org/

I am particularly thrilled that Lauren Redniss’s stunning book, Radioactive, is a finalist in the nonfiction category for her graphic biography of Marie and Pierre Curie. 

In the category recognizing books for young people, I am happy – but not at all surprised – that Gary Schmidt’s coming-of-age novel, Okay for Now, was nominated.  And, coincidentally, I had just ordered a copy of Thannhai Lai’s novel, Inside Out & Back Again, based on its wonderful reviews. It”s moved up to the top of my “to read” pile.

The winners in fiction, nonfiction and young people’s literature will be announced on November 16.

2 thoughts on “National Book Award Finalists

  1. Do you ever read YA? If so, and if you read Chime, let me know what you think! Inside Out and Back Again was a very good story! I wrote a review. I also read The Tiger’s Wife and enjoyed it, though at the end I wasn’t sure if I “got” it…the other adult fiction titles sound too sad for me.

    • Hi Devin,

      Thanks for recommending Inside Out and Back Again – I look forward to reading it. If you get a chance, check out Radioactive from the graphic category!

Leave a Reply

