Reading Around the World – Continued…

2 Comments

On Wednesday, I listed 15 books I’m going to read to Inly’s first, second and third grade students this year.  As I explained in that post, I plan to read books by authors from countries other than the USA. Nothing against all of the wonderful American writers and illustrators; I just want to spend one school year introducing our students to the treasures being created in other places. I’ll probably sneak a few Americans in when I can’t resist, but in general, that’s the plan. 

I began the school year by listing 30 books. Some authors (like Leo Lionni) are represented by more than one book – how do you choose between Frederick and Swimmy?  I listed half of them in my last post – here are the others:

Up and Down by Oliver Jeffers – England

Grandfather’s Journey by Allen Say – Japan

Frederick by Leo Lionni – Lionni was born in Holland and grew up in Italy.

Swimmy by Leo Lionni

Guji Guji by Chih-Yuan Chen – Taiwan

The Name Jar by Yangsook Choi – Korea

Dear Juno by Soyung Pak

Time to Pray by Maha Addasi – The author grew up in Kuwait

Monsoon Afternoon by Kashmira Sheth – India

Dear Primo: A Letter to My Cousin by Duncan Tonatiuh – Mexico

Diego Rivera: His World and Ours by Duncan Tonatiuh – Mexico

Mary of Mile 18 by Ann Blades – Canada

Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox – Australia

Stella, Queen of the Snow by Marie-Louise Gay – Canada

And finally…a book that would take me through an 80-week school year (not that I’m an advocate of that plan)…

Around the World in 80 Tales, retold by Saviour Pirotta – This book has short stories from every corner of the globe so I’ll keep it handy this year!

2 thoughts on “Reading Around the World – Continued…

Leave a Reply

