Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends by Wong Herbert Yee

Leave a comment

Today is Labor Day, but I’ve already been to CVS this morning and had to shield my eyes from the Halloween candy.  I know why it’s there, but today, on this last day of summer vacation, I can’t think about pumpkins and goblins. I’ve been at school this weekend, getting the “new” library ready for tomorrow. The posters are up, new books are on display, and there’s even an huge abstruct sculpture-like squash for the kids to see. Before leaving yesterday, I stood back  and imagined the space filled with students. The room is great – light and spacious. The section I’m particularly excited about is the area for newly independent readers. The books begin with “Level 1” readers and move up to the “Magic Tree House level.”  That’s not an official library term, but it does help kids and parents to navigate their way through the early chapter books. 

One new series that I’m looking forward to sharing with our students is Wong Herbert Yee’s Mouse and Mole books. They are well-paced, gentle and most of all, they focus on friendship (and its challenges) in a subtle and inspiring way.  To me, they are a tribute to two of children’s literature’s greatest pals – Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel.  Frog and Toad would enjoy a day out with Mouse and Mole!  There are now six books in the Mouse and Mole series:

Mouse and Mole: Fine-Feathered Friends

Upstairs Mouse, Downstairs Mole

A Brand New Day with Mouse and Mole

Mouse and Mole: A Winter Wonderland – this one is my favorite cover!

Abracadabra! Magic with Mouse and Mole

Mouse and Mole: A Perfect Halloween

There’s another famous friendship Mouse and Mole bring to mind – Rat and Mole from The Wind in the Willows.  LIke those famous river pals, Mouse and Mole make me feel warm and cozy and reind me that life is full of adventure – a worthwhile sentiment on the day before school starts!

Leave a Reply

