Three Days in New York City

Leave a comment

We got back from New York City last night, and our house feels so quiet today. The juxtaposition of being at the farmer’s market in Union Square yesterday with walking around the local Stop and Shop today is dramatic. One of the biggest differences is how the shoppers are dressed. The blueberries and tomatoes could not capture my attention yesterday. I was too busy checking out the amazing fashion show around us. Sometimes when I’m looking at a glossy magazine, I wonder “who would really wear outfits like these?”  Well, the answer is in Union Square and somehow the women make it work.

Naturally we went to bookstores. Union Square is the home of the Strand (18 miles of books!), and we divided into interests with my husband heading to history and my son to music. Quite honestly, I wandered. Sometimes I feel a bit jumpy around so many possibilities, and I spent my time eavesdropping and people watching. What I loved most was a small plastic sign sticking out of several volumes that read: #1 Book To Look Smart at a Coffee Shop.”  Funny, huh?  Two of the books featured in the promotion were: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro and Passionate Sage: The Character and Legacy of John Adams by Joseph Ellis.  Actually, with the growing popularity of e-readers, it’s not easy to see what people are reading. I miss that. It’s always fun to initiate a conversation about a book.

We also saw War Horse, the play adapted from Michael Morpurgo’s novel of the same title. After it won this year’s Tony Award for best play, we added it to our wish list.  One of Morpurgo’s best known novels for young people, War Horse is the story of a boy and his horse set against the backdrop of World War I.  The play, which opened in London, features life size puppets, and truly, within minutes of the show beginning, you forget the horses are not real. Their movements are so life-like that it’s both wonderful and disconcerting. At one point in the show shots rang out – simulating cannons – and my immediate thought was that it must have startled the horses. If you have a chance – see it.

For now, it’s back to reality. A new school year is right around the corner, and there’s still lots on the “to do” list.

Leave a Reply

