Three Answers To: Do You Have a Funny Book?

Leave a comment

Every day my library co-worker and I are asked the same question: Do you have any funny books?  Kids between the ages of five and eight are connoisseurs of funny.  We have our usual suspects ready to check out: Milo’s Hat Trick by Jon Agee, the Pigeon books by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Lane Smith, but the kids are relentless. They always come back for more, and as of today I feel more prepared to meet the demands of my young patrons.  These three books will go straight to the top of our read aloud stack.

Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet by Kelly DiPucchio – The story has been told before, but I loved Gilbert. I could hear the kids laughing when a mouse mistakes Gilbert for a “large chunk of cheddar cheese.” As always, Bob Shea’s illustrations add to the charm of the story.

Betty Bunny Loves Chocolate Cake by Michael B. Kaplan – When Betty Bunny discovers how much she really loves chocolate cake, her patience is tested. Every young child (and many adults) will relate to Betty’s situation!

Apple Pie ABC by Alison Murray – This is one of the few alphabet books that is also a good read aloud. I love the mischevous little dog in this book…I want him to live in my house.

Leave a Reply

