The Author of Little Women Slept Here…

2 Comments

When my friend asked me to step into the room where Louisa May Alcott stayed during her childhood visits to Norwell, Massachusetts, I felt like I was entering a sacred space. I wanted to stand where Alcott woke up, looked out the window, and thought about the day in front of her. Stepping into the old attic room, I wondered what stories may have been in Alcott’s mind as she looked out on the beautiful pasture below. 

May Elms in Norwell, Massachusetts was the home of Rev. Samuel May, the minister of First Parish Church from 1835 to 1842. May was an abolitionist, ardent crusader for the temperance movement and an uncle of Louisa May Alcott.  I can only imagine how happy Rev. May would be to know the attention and care his house receives 225 years later.  Built in 1786, the house has the feel of a place you visit to restore your spirits. Just knowing Louisa slept there, restored mine.

2 thoughts on “The Author of Little Women Slept Here…

  1. Shelley,
    I didn’t know this! I could spend a month at Orchard House in Concord imagining the four girls and Marmie making up plays in their parlor, but knowing that she was so close by? Thank you for writing this!

    • Thanks for your comment, Pat. I feel the same way. I had no idea Alcott spent time on the south shore. I was happy to learn about this literary link between Concord and Norwell.

Leave a Reply

