Get Me to the Big Screen On Time!

1 Comment

I’m going to set the alarm clock earlier than normal this Friday so I don’t miss the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton.  To be honest, I’m not that invested in William and Kate’s story, but I’ll watch for nostalgic reasons. Thirty years ago I was glued to “the telly” to see Prince Charles marry Diana Spencer, and reading about the preparations for William and Kate’s big day is like stepping back in time. I remember sitting in my basement with my best friend watching Diana walk down that impossibly long aisle in that puffy dress. Like many young women at the time, we were carried away by the romance and pageantry of it. Of course, this was before the internet and the age of way too much information so we still believed in the fairy tale. Now, of course, we sadly know better. But just the same, I want to recapture some of the optimism and belief in happy endings that I felt that day.

If you plan to be on the couch with a young royal watcher, you may want to make the public library your first stop. The picture books listed below feature some of the landmarks that will be shown on Friday and, after looking at them, all you’ll need is a pot of tea, a basket of scones, and according to one of my friends – a tiarra!

Katie in London by James Mayhew

This is London by Miroslav Sasek

Charlotte in London by Joan London

Dodsworth in London by Tim Egan

Madeline in London by Ludwig Bemelmans

A final note: The first book I thought of for this list was one my son used to enjoy – Paddington at the Palace by Michael Bond, but just as I suspected – it’s out of print.  Too bad. It’s a really cute story about Paddington visiting Buckingham Palace to watch the Changing of the Guard. Maybe your library has a copy…

One thought on “Get Me to the Big Screen On Time!

  1. Though I was only 8, my mom woke me up to watch the REAL princess get married. I will be setting the alarm on Friday as well to relive some of the nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

