The Return of Flicka, Ricka and Dicka

Leave a comment

 

I’m so happy that the picture books about Flicka, Ricka and Dicka have been reissued by Albert Whitman & Company. There are no words for how much I enjoyed these stories of three little Swedish girls when I was growing up in the 1970s. As one of three girls myself, they had special appeal, but I’ve always loved them for their sweetness. Nothing too dramatic in these stories – the girls bake cakes, find kittens and make new friends. Even in the tech-free quiet of the 1970s, these books (written in the 1940s and 1950s) seemed to reflect a gentler time. Maj Lindman, the author, wrote many books for children, but she is best known for her stories about two sets of triplets: Flicka, Ricka and Dicka and Snipp, Snapp and Snurr. I read the books about the blonde boys too, but they didn’t come close to the affection I felt for the girls.

I’m sure I didn’t appreciate the art as a child, but look at this beautiful cover. It didn’t surprise me to read in the Albert Whitman catalog that Lindman studied art at the Royal Academy of Arts in Stockholm and in Paris.  I’m definitely going to order a few from each series to share with our students.

Leave a Reply

