There’s a Princess in the Palace: Five Classic Tales

Leave a comment

 

One thing I’m doing during this rainy Sunday is looking at a few new books purchased for the Inly Library.  A box of books arrived at the end of the day on Friday so I tucked them into my bag on my way out the door.  One of them – purely because it is oversized – literally stood out from the others. There’s a Princess in the Palace: Five Classic Tales by husband and wife team Zoe B. Alley and R.W. Alley is such a delight that its bright pink cover is brightening this gloomy day.  What a fun book.  It’s a re-telling of fairy tales in graphic format. Actually this book reminds me of the Marcia Williams series of books which includes The Adventures of Robin Hood, King Arthur and the Dickens stories. 

There’s a Princess in the Palace includes five stories: Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, The Frog Prince, and The Princess and the Pea. They are really funny. Here’s a representative line, this one from Cinderella: “Cinderella sobbed all over her suds. Why are they always so mean to me? I wish chocolate cupcakes were invented – they would make me feel better!”  Later, Cinderella comments: “My rights are being violated!”  I could go on, but you get the idea.  Each story follows the familiar story line, but there’s lots of clever dialogue and fun visual details. In the spirit of my holiday gift suggestions, I think this would be a terrific gift for a child or adult.  I plan on reading all of it today.

Leave a Reply

