Holiday Giving – Part 4

Leave a comment

One of my favorite things about the winter is looking at picture books about snow.  To be clear, I don’t enjoy being in the snow, but I like looking at pictures of others enjoying it.  I always tell my family that I should live in Florida because snowy days – although beautiful – only make me think of icy roads and trying to clear a path for our 10-pound-dog to do his business.  Snow, however, is one of the most beautiful subjects for picture books, and because kids love it so much, snow stories make wonderful holiday gifts. I have a collection of favorite picture books about winter which I pull out every January to share with our students.  I went through all of them today and chose my favorites. It was no easy task, but these six books emerged as the ones I would not want to live without:

Snow by Uri Shulevitz

Snow by Roy McKie and P.D. Eastman

The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats

The Snow Day by Komako Sakai

Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin (The winner of the 1999 Caldecott Medal, Snowflake Bentley is the true story of the Vermont native who made the science of snowflakes his life’s work.)

Geraldine’s Big Snow by Holly Keller (This book is out of print, but there are many inexpensive copies available from Amazon. I have such fond memories of sharing this book with my son when we were anticipating a possible snow day!)

Leave a Reply

