Three for Thursday

Leave a comment

Last night I was getting out of my car and I heard this brushing/swishing sound. There are woods next to our house, and it sounded as if someone was sweeping the leaf-covered ground.  I walked towards the woods listening as the sound got louder – a group of brooms sweeping back and forth.  I looked into the woods and saw over 30 turkeys digging.  I don’t know what they were digging for, but I have never seen turkeys look so purposeful.  Fortunately, I work in a library where there are all kinds of books about wildlife, and so after this is posted, I’m going to explore the world of turkeys.

Naturally, my backyard observations led me to thinking about Thanksgiving, but not in any way that those turkeys would have appreciated. So, with my new neighbors in mind, here are three books that celebrate the coziest holiday – Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving is Here! by Diane Goode (A Thanksgiving “greeting card” that captures the joy of a family gathering for a day together. The illustrations have fun and realistic details – crying babies and washing dishes included.)

Samuel Eaton’s Day: A Day in the Life of a Pilgrim Boy by Kate Waters (This series of books portray what life was like for the people who celebrated the first Thanksgiving. Waters’ books, best for kids ages 7 and over, include a number of titles, including On the Mayflower, a book about life before the Pilgrims reached “the rock.” All of Waters’ books feature large colorful photographs by Russ Kendall.)

Tapenum’s Day: A Wampanoag Indian Boy in Pilgrim Times by Kate Waters (A day in the life of a fictional Wampanoag boy living at Plimoth Plantation in 1620.)

Leave a Reply

